On 24 October a delegation of 14 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs), led by Croatian MEP Andrej Plenković (EPP) starts their activities to observe the 2014 parliamentary election in Ukraine.

"The forthcoming parliamentary elections in Ukraine are important for consolidation of democracy in Ukraine, especially since in some regions they are held in very demanding circumstances. We, together with other international observers, will have an important role in observing that the elections are conducted in free and fair manner", said Mr Plenkovic, who leads the MEPs delegation.

The aim of MEPs' mission is to assess whether the 2014 parliamentary elections in Ukraine are conducted according to country's international commitments and national laws. MEPs' work will be guided by international standards and criteria, as defined by OSCE/ODIHR, and grounded in fundamental civil and political rights.


How will MEPs work

On 24-25 October MEPs will meet the Ukrainian electoral authorities, international and Ukrainian election observation organisations, leaders of the main political parties, civil society and media representatives. Also meetings with Ukraine's President, Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs are scheduled.

On Sunday, 26 October, day of the election, MEPs will observe the elections in the capital Kyiv and also cities of Cherkasy, Odessa, Kharkiv and Dnjepropetrovsk. They will visit polling stations, watch the voting process and observe the opening of the ballot boxes and counting of votes.

The delegation will finish its work after the joint press conference in the afternoon on 27 October, where they, together with other international observers, will present the preliminary conclusions on the election process.


Composition of the MEPs delegation

The EP delegation will be composed of 14 MEPs and integrated in an International Election Observation Mission led by the long-term expert mission of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR).

The whole political spectrum of the European Parliament and various EU countries are represented in the delegation:

Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia, European People's Party — EPP), Chair

Anna Maria CORAZZA BILDT (Sweden, EPP)

Joachim ZELLER, (Germany, EPP)

Michal BONI (Poland, EPP)

Kati PIRI (Netherlands, Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats — S&D)

Tibor SZANYI (Hungary, S&D)

Miroslav POCHE (Czech Republic, S&D)

Ryszard CZARNECKI (Poland, European Conservatives and Reformists — ECR)


Johannes van BAALEN (Netherlands, Alliance of Liberals & Democrats for Europe - ALDE)

Petras AUŠTREVIČIUS (Lithuania, ALDE)

Miloslav RANSDORF (CZ, European United Left - Nordic Green Left — GUE/NGL)

Rebecca HARMS (DE, The Greens/ European Free Alliance)

Valentinas MAZURONIS (LT, Europe for Freedom and Direct Democracy group — EFDD)

This is an informal message intended to help journalists covering the work of the European Parliament. It is neither an official press release nor a comprehensive record of proceedings.