Share this page: 

Opening by President Schulz of EP Plenary, November I in Brussels© European Union 2014 - EP 

The November I session opened with a commemorative round of speeches by President Martin Schulz and political group leaders on the fall of the Berlin wall. This was followed by agenda changes to allow for a debate with Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker and taxation Commissioner Pierre Moscovici on tax avoidance, in response to reports of leaked secret tax deals giving preferential tax treatment to multinational firms.

After the debate, Parliament elected Mr Ioan Mircea PASCU (S&D, RO) as its new 8th Vice-President, replacing Corina Creţu, who left to join the European Commission.


Agenda changes


Wednesday – A debate on Council and Commission statements on fight against tax avoidance is to be added after the election of a Vice-President of the European Parliament.

The joint debate on cooperation between the EU and other EEA countries in specific fields outside the four freedoms is expanded to include an item on the coordination of social security schemes between the EU and Switzerland.

Thursday - A report by Heidi Hautala (Greens/EFA, FI) on the request for the waiver of the parliamentary immunity of Ana Gomes (S&D, PT) (A8-0025/2014) is added to the votes on Thursday.

Incoming MEPs

Carlos José ITURGAIZ ANGULO (EPP, ES), replaces Miguel ARIAS CAÑETE), as of 6 November 2014

Tom VANDENKENDELAERE (EPP, BE), replaces Marianne THYSSEN), as of 6 November 2014

Lefteris CHRISTOFOROU (EPP, CY), replaces Christos STYLIANIDES), as of 3 November 2014

Urmas PAET (ALDE, EE), replaces Andrus ANSIP), as of 3 November 2014,

Inese VAIDERE (EPP, LV), replaces Valdis DOMBROVSKIS), as of 1 November 2014

Outgoing MEPs

Tomislav DONCHEV (EPP, BG), as of 6 November 2014

Andrus ANSIP (ALDE, EE), as of 31 October 2014

Miguel ARIAS CAÑETE (EPP, ES), as of 31 October 2014

Corina CREŢU (S&D, RO), as of 31 October 2014

Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (EPP, LV), as of 31 October 2014

Christos STYLIANIDES, (EPP, CY), as of 31 October 2014

Marianne THYSSEN (EPP, BE), as of 31 October 2014

Francisco SOSA WAGNER (ALDE, ES), as of 19 October 2014