The European Parliament will once again mark "Earth Hour" by switching off lights in all its buildings on Saturday 19 March from 20.30h to 21.30h. "Earth Hour" is a global environmental initiative, begun in Sydney in 2007, to raise awareness of the need to act to fight climate change.

On this occasion EP President Martin Schulz said "Following the COP21 agreement, this year's Earth Hour has a particular significance. Thanks to the agreement reached in Paris we have to move from pledges to actions, from mapping the route for the future to walking on that route. Everyone has to commit to stop global warming and saving the planet - every individual, every organisation and every institution. That's why the European Parliament is proud to take part in the Earth Hour".

Earth Hour is a global World Wildlife Fund initiative to fight climate change. Individuals, businesses, governments and communities are invited to turn out their lights for one hour, on Saturday March 19 from 20.30h to 21.30h, to show their support.

In 2015, 172 countries and territories joined in Earth Hour and more than 10,000 other landmarks and monuments switched off their lights. In Europe, these included the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin, the Acropolis in Athens, St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican, the Colosseum in Rome, the Alhambra in Granada and the Houses of Parliament in London.