Share this page: 

Environment, Public Health and Food safety MEPs elected Adina-Ioana Vălean (EPP, RO) as committee chair on Monday, for the second half of the legislature. MEPs also re-elected Benedek Jávor (Greens/EFA, HU), Daciana Sârbu (S&D, RO), Pavel Poc (S&D, CZ), and Gilles Pargneaux (S&D, FR) as vice-chairs.

“The trust that my Environment Committee colleagues have expressed today honours me, as we will be responsible for many important files in this second half-term”, said Ms Vălean.

“I will continue the excellent cooperation with other political parties in Parliament, built by my predecessor Giovanni La Via, in order to implement the Paris agreement and tackle climate change. Public health, environmental protection and food safety are areas of vital importance for EU citizens and communities. We will work very hard together to deliver the level of protection that our citizens need”, she added.

Note to editors


While Ms Vălean, Mr Jávor, Ms Sârbu and Mr Pargneaux were elected by acclamation, Mr Poc was elected 3rd Vice-Chair with 40 votes to 14 for Piernicola Pedicini (EFDD, IT).