To mark the International Holocaust Remembrance Day (27 January), the European Parliament and the European Jewish Congress will hold a ceremony on Wednesday. EP President Antonio Tajani and European Jewish Congress President Dr Moshe Kantor will deliver the opening speeches.

UNESCO Ambassador for Education about the Holocaust Beate Klarsfeld and European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation Chairman Tony Blair will also be among the speakers.

President Tajani will open the ceremony, followed by a contribution from Dr Kantor.

After Ms Klarsfeld’s speech, Mr Blair will hand the “Medal of Tolerance Award” to Russian film director Andrei Konchalovsky, for his film “Paradise”, about a relationship between a concentration camp inmate and an SS officer.

Date and time: 25 January 2017, from 13.00 to 14:30.

Place: European Parliament, Paul-Henri Spaak Building (PHS), Espace Yehudi Menuhin.

Ms. Klarsfeld will be available to meet the press from 12.30 to 13.00 and from 14.30 to 15.00, in French and German. If interested, please contact:

Isabelle ZERROUK

Brussels: +32 2 28 42742

GSM: +32 470 88 02 62

Photo and video coverage of the ceremony and from historical archives will be made available soon after the event.

The poster of the ceremony.

Hashtag: #HolocaustRemembrance