Share this page: 

Cybersecurity, youth unemployment, climate change and media freedom will be among the agenda items at next week’s EU-Neighbourhood East Parliamentary Assembly.

The 6th ordinary session of the EU-Neighbourhood East (Euronest) Parliamentary Assembly will take place in Kiev, Ukraine, from 30 October to 1 November 2017.


MEPs and national MPs from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine will prepare their input to Eastern Partnership Summit meeting in Brussels on 24 November. They will adopt resolutions on media freedom, youth unemployment, the situation of women in the labour market in Eastern partner countries, and energy cooperation to implement the Paris climate change agreement.


The Assembly will also debate cybersecurity in the EU and the Eastern Partnership countries.


Full draft programme here


The European Parliament’s delegation will be headed by its chair Rebecca Harms (Greens, DE).


The session will be opened formally on 31 October at 18:00 by the Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada Andriy Parubiy (Ukraine) and Euronest Co-Presidents Rebecca Harms and Marian Lupu (Moldova).


The plenary session will be web-streamed live. You can also follow the coverage through @EP_ForeignAff with #Euronest. 


Press conference


Wednesday, 1 November, 17.15 at Conference Hall (Verkhovna Rada), with Euronest Co-Presidents Rebecca Harms and Marian Lupu.




Rebecca Harms said “This year's plenary session meets at a very timely occasion to provide a specific parliamentary input into the upcoming Eastern Partnership Summit. I look forward to discussing with all partners crucial issues such as the future focus of the Eastern Partnership policy, the development of cooperation in fields such as cybersecurity, judicial and media reforms, as well as the implementation of existing bilateral agreements and the negotiation of new ones.”


Quick facts


The Euronest Parliamentary Assembly was established on 3 May 2011 in Brussels as the parliamentary institution of the EU Eastern Partnership. Meeting once a year, it aims to promote political association and further economic integration between the European Union and Eastern neighbours (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine). The European Parliament delegates 60 members, and the Eastern Partners 10 each. Belarus does not for the time being take part in the Assembly's activities, but Belarusian MPs will be welcomed once political requirements will have been fulfilled.