Share this page: 

Main information

Strasbourg 1-2 June


The third edition of the European Youth Event (EYE) takes place at the European Parliament in Strasbourg on 1 and 2 June 2018. The aim is to offer a space for young people’s voices to be heard, whether in the plenary chamber with MEPs or in discussion groups. The most promising ideas will be discussed in the European Parliament and will contribute to shaping the future of Europe, one year ahead of the European elections.


8 000+ young people discuss their future in Europe


It is Europe’s biggest youth-led festival on politics and democracy with over 8 000 young people (aged 16-30 with the majority aged 18-24) from all over the continent and beyond ready to make their voices heard and come up with ideas for the future of Europe and what matters for them in next year’s European elections.


400 activities, five themes


Around 400 activities in English, French and German running under the motto “The plan is to fan this spark into a flame.” (Hamilton, My Shot).


Some 130 youth groups and organisations designed and prepared about half of these activities, making it an event for young people by young people.


The EYE will centre around five main themes


  • Young and old: Keeping up with the digital revolution
  • Rich and poor: Calling for a fair share
  • Apart and together: Working out for a stronger Europe
  • Safe and dangerous: Staying alive in turbulent times
  • Local and global: Protecting our planet


The participants’ main ideas will be written down and presented to MEPs in the official EYE report. In autumn, the most concrete ideas from the EYE will be presented by participants in special ‘youth hearings’ in a number of parliamentary committees. Expect a lively discussion between the MEPs and the next generation!


EP President and MEPs attending the EYE


The President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani will open the EYE 2018 with a debate with the participants in the plenary chamber.


Seven Vice-Presidents will be present:

Sylvie Guillaume (S&D, FR),

Ramón Luis Valcarcel Siso (EPP, ES)

Mairead McGuinness (EPP, IE)

Evelyne Gebhardt (S&D, DE)

Járóka Lívia (EPP, HU)

Catherine Bearder (ALDE, UK)

Rainer Wieland (EPP, DE)


Together with another 40 MEPs, they will participate in panels, idea checks, idea labs and workshops with young participants.


Other High-level speakers include:


  • Marianne Thyssen, European Commissioner for Employment and Social Affairs:
  • Emily O’Reilly, European Ombudswoman
  • Sakharov prize winners Lamiya Aji Bashar (2016) and Denis Mukwege (2014)
  • Valéry Giscard D’Estaing, President of ‘Re-imagine Europa’, former French President
  • Yanis Varoufakis, Co-founder of ‘DieM25’, former Greek Finance Minister
  • Paolo Nespoli - European Space Agency astronaut
  • Benoît Hamon - founder of Generation.s and former French presidential candidate
  • Jayathma Wickramanayake - UN Secretary General’s Envoy on Youth


EYE 2018 facts & figures


  • Third edition of the EYE with around 400 panels, ideas checks, idea labs, workshops and artistic performances), more than 250 speakers, spread over two days
  • Tenth edition of the Yo!Fest (European Youth Forum) with over 200 political debates and workshops.
  • Yo!Fest set up outside the European Parliament, five themes with 200+ political, educational and interactive activities
  • A record-breaking response - more than 8 000 participants aged between 16 and 30, the majority between 18 and 24
  • There will be more than 120 nationalities represented at the EYE - mostly coming from the EU, but not only. The non-EU countries that are most represented are Turkey, Albania, Norway, Ukraine, Russian Federation, FYROM, USA, China, DR Congo, and Ghana.
  • Gender: 55 % female, 45 % male


More than 300 volunteers, mostly from the region of Strasbourg but also from all parts of France and international students currently living in Strasbourg. Other volunteers come from further away, e.g. Spain, Lithuania or even Canada and China.


Partners of the EYE2018 - the 11 official partners contribute to the programme in many ways.


  • European Youth Forum
  • City of Strasbourg
  • ARTE
  • The European Youth Press (EYP)
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU)
  • The European Commission – DG EMPL, DG EAC, DG GROW, DG COMM.
  • European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Institut d’Études Politiques (IEP) de Strasbourg
  • The Council of Europe
  • The European Federation of Professional Circus Schools (FEDEC)
  • The Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen


Follow the EYE wherever you are


The EYE will not be limited to those physically attending; young people across Europe will be able to participate online. Young Europeans can use the official event page on Facebook to discuss EYE-related topics. Participants can also keep up to speed with the hashtag #EYE2018 and by downloading the EYE app.


Media accreditation, interviews, contacts


Annual press badges, either interinstitutional badges or EP badges are valid.


Journalists without such an access badge need to ask for accreditation before 31 May via with the following information:


  • name of your media
  • family name
  • first name
  • e-mail
  • phone number
  • date of birth
  • nationality
  • official ID number
  • type of ID document
  • a photo in the European identity card format, i.e. portrait, aspect ratio 3X4, jpeg format and +/- 100 KB.


Work areas


Media can access dedicated working space in the press room and the press gallery and have access to all EYE working areas during the event if they have accreditation.


Audiovisual facilities


Reservations for TV and radio studios to be made in advance. Stand-up positions in self-service and internet broadband cables near the plenary chamber are available in limited number.




Accreditation and recording permits


Tel: +32. 22842068


Interview queries


Tel. +32 484 125958


Press Service and Press Room

Michaela FINDEIS

Tel + 32 498 98 33 32



Tel. +33 3 88 17 40 07


Service Audiovisuel


Mobile +32 470 88 02 38