Share this page: 

The Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee on Tuesday approved the candidatures of Philip Lane (ECB), José Manuel Campa (EBA) and Sebastiano Laviola (SRB).

The candidature of Philip Lane (Ireland) as member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank was adopted by 33 to 8 with 6 abstentions.

The candidature of José Manuel Campa (Spain) as Chair of the European Banking Authority was adopted by 35 to 8 with 5 abstentions.

The candidature of Sebastiano Laviola (Italy) as a new member of the Single Resolution Board was adopted by 37 to 8 with 3 abstentions.

Before the vote, MEPs held an exchange of views with the three candidates (video recording of the hearings).

Next steps

The votes of the committee will need to be confirmed by a plenary vote in March. The Council of the EU will have the final word on the appointment of the candidates to the above-mentioned institutions.