Media Accreditation 


Journalists, photographers and audiovisual teams need to apply for media accreditation and/or a special recording permit in order to work in the European Parliament.

There are two types of accreditation available in the European Parliament:

  • Short-term accreditation
  • Annual accreditation

Short term accreditation

Visiting journalists to Brussels, Strasbourg or Luxembourg can obtain an accreditation for a specific meeting/part-session. All journalists are required to send the following information at least 24h in advanceto

  • name of your media
  • press card or letter from Editor-in-Chief
  • purpose of visiting the European Parliament
  • family name
  • first name
  • e-mail
  • phone number (mobile)
  • date of birth
  • nationality
  • official ID number
  • type of ID document
  • a photo in the European identity card format, i.e. portrait, aspect ratio 3X4, jpeg format and +/- 100 KB.

Annual Accreditation

Journalists who report regularly on EP affairs and/or are based in Strasbourg/Brussels or Luxembourg can qualify for an annual accreditation to the European Parliament. The accreditation is valid in all three seats of Parliament (Strasbourg, Brussels and Luxembourg).

The rules and application form for annual accreditation.

All journalists who have access to Parliament's buildings can use the facilities provided for journalists.

Recording permit for media

Journalists[1] are obliged to have a recording permit to film and take photographs in the European Parliament. The recording permit is issued at the media accreditation desk and can also be requested beforehand from Journalists must adhere and sign the rules for filming and taking photographs in the Parliament

Non-media recording permit

Photographers and camera operators, who are invited by MEPs or by Parliament services hereby known as the ‘requesting authority’, for special events, communication and promotional work should hold a ‘non-media recording permit. The requesting authority and/or the photographer/camera operator shall request the permit 24 hours in advance from ( This permit does not give access to the European Parliament premises. The requesting authority requests normal visitor access. The requesting authority is responsible for supervising the recordings and ensuring the rules for recordings by non-media representatives are adhered to.

Media accreditation offices: opening hours

Brussels: Media accreditation office, Press/Visitor’s entrance, Paul-Henri Spaak building, PHS -1C029, Rue Wiertz.

Monday-Thursday 08:30 -17 :45; Friday 08:30-13.00

Strasbourg (plenary session only): press entrance, Louise Weiss (LOW) building. This is the first entrance on the left inside the central courtyard (Bronislaw Geremek Agora).

Monday:                                12:00 - 20:00

Tuesday-Wednesday:         08:00- 20:00

Thursday:                              08:00 - close of plenary session.

Related pages:

Interinstitutional accreditation - European Commission

European Council accreditation

[1] Journalists include photographers and cameramen