Run-up to European elections: key dates  


Work in the European Parliament’s 8th term ends on 18 April 2019. In a direct vote on 23-26 May, EU27 citizens will elect 705 MEPs to form the new House.

Key events in the run-up to the European Elections 

In the remaining plenary sessions, Parliament in its current form (751 MEPs from 28 member states) will debate and vote on many crucial legislative proposals, including the EU’s next long-term budget and the UK’s Brexit withdrawal agreement (read more on past and upcoming decisions in the “Achievements” section). MEPs’ “Future of Europe” debates with EU leaders are set to attract growing public attention as the European election campaigns get under way.

Future of Europe: Europe’s leaders discuss ways forward with MEPs

At the invitation of Parliament’s President Antonio Tajani, EU heads of state or government will continue debating their visions of Europe’s future with MEPs and EU Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker during plenary sessions. View past contributions by Angela Merkel (Germany), Klaus Iohannis (Romania), Alexis Tsipras (Greece), Jüri Ratas (Estonia), Mateusz Morawiecki (Poland), Mark Rutte (Netherlands), Xavier Bettel (Luxembourg), Charles Michel (Belgium), Emmanuel Macron (France), António Costa (Portugal), Andrej Plenković (Croatia) and Leo Varadkar (Ireland) will be followed by debates with Lars Løkke Rasmussen (Denmark), Nicos Anastasiades (Cyprus) Pedro Sánchez (Spain), Juha Sipilä (Finland), Giuesppe Conte (Italy) and Peter Pellegrini (Slovakia).

Watch the videos on “Future of Europe

Parliament to vote on UK withdrawal bill

The EU Commission negotiating team and the UK government are expected to conclude the Brexit negotiations in the autumn. The European Parliament will need to approve the agreement by a simple majority of votes cast (Article 50 (2) of the Treaty). For this reason, it is kept closely informed of the proceedings, even though it has no formal role in the negotiations. Britain’s membership of the European Union is set to lapse as of 29 March 2019. Read more about Parliament’s debates and resolutions online on Brexit.

People discuss Europe’s future

To kick off the citizen’s debates, people between 16 and 30 years old held a pan-European citizens’ debate on the future of Europe, in Strasbourg on 1 and 2 June, as part of the 2018 “European Youth Event” (EYE2018), hosted by Parliament but run by young people for young people. More than 8,000 young people from all parts of Europe expressed their views and expectations, summarised in a report on 100 ideas for the future of Europe to be followed by hearings in Parliament’s committees. Finally, 800 young people will discuss the top ten ideas in the EP plenary chamber during the “youth parliament” on 19 November and issue final recommendations to the Council.

Democracy alive: local debates

A non-partisan platform This time I’m has been set up in 24 languages to encourage open public debate and motivate more people to get involved, get informed and make their voices heard in the May 2019 European elections.

Events near you

Local events are set up by volunteers across the EU 

Parliament’s liaison offices in all member states act as information hubs tailored to local needs. They will support public debate by offering local platforms, easy-to-access online tools, seminars and information material. Quick-response services such as What Europe does for you, Ask EP, FAQ on the European Parliament, #EUandME (by the European Commission) are available in all languages.

Contact details for media inquiries.