How many MEPs? 

Since 1 July 2014 there are 751 MEPs in the European Parliament, as laid down in the Lisbon Treaty.

Until 1 July 2014 there were 766 MEPs in the European Parliament, although the number of MEPs elected in June 2009, at the last European elections, was 736, as laid down in the Nice Treaty. But the number temporarily increased (as of 1 December 2011) by 18, following an agreement by the member states, and by further 12 (as of 1 July 2013) after the accession of Croatia.

In the 2014 European elections, 12 EU member states each lost one seat and none gained a seat. These reductions are needed in order to comply with the 751-seat limit set by the Lisbon Treaty and to accommodate Croatian MEPs.

12 member states – Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal and Romania – each lost one seat at the

2014 European elections. The remaining three seats came from Germany, whose share went down from 99 seats to 96, the maximum allowed by the Lisbon Treaty.

This allocation of seats should be revised before the 2019 elections on the basis of a proposal by the European Parliament presented before the end of 2016, to ensure that seats are distributed in an "objective, fair, durable and transparent way". This should respect the principle of "degressive proportionality", whereby MEPs from larger member states represent more citizens than those from smaller ones, reflect any change in the number of member states and demographic trends, and respect the overall balance of the institutional system.