Main menu (press 'Enter')
Access to page content (press 'Enter')
Direct access to list of other websites (press 'Enter')
Top story icon
Top story :

Antonio Tajani elected as new Parliament president - Mid-term elections in the Parliament

Institutions / Parliament's Rules of Procedure 18-01-2017 - 15:01 / Updated: 20-01-2017 - 12:06

Antonio Tajani was elected president of the European Parliament on 17 January, succeeding Martin Schulz. Tajani, an Italian member of the centre-right European People’s Party (EPP) group and vice-president of the Parliament, received 351 votes in the fourth and final round of voting, compared to 282 votes for Gianni Pittella, the Italian leader of the S&D group. His term in office will end in 2019, when the next elections for the European Parliament will be held. (Read more: Antonio Tajani elected president: “I will be a spokesman for the whole Parliament”)

MEPs elected Antonio Tajani as Parliament president on 17 January and on 18 January voted for who they wanted as vice-presidents and quaestors for the second half of the parliamentary term. Check out our infographic to find out who was chosen for Parliament's key posts. (Read more: Who's who: overview of the people in charge of Parliament)

Following the election of the President, MEPs elected 14 Vice-Presidents in two ballots on Wednesday. To be elected, candidates needed to win an absolute majority of valid votes cast. The new Vice-Presidents come from six different political groups. Members also elected five Quaestors, by acclamation. (Read more: Parliament’s mid-term election: 14 Vice-Presidents and 5 Quaestors elected )

Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) won Parliament’s presidential election with 351 votes in a final face-off with Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT), who secured 282 votes. (Read more: Antonio Tajani elected new President of the European Parliament)

Antonio Tajani was elected as the new Parliament President on Tuesday 17 January after four rounds of voting. Following the announcement of the results, Tajani praised the democratic nature of the process and promised to represent all MEPs. Watch our video for some of the highlights of the election. (Read more: How it happened: the election of Antonio Tajani as Parliament president)

REF. : 20170117TST58587
Antonio Tajani elected Parliament's new president

Former Commissioner Antonio Tajani (EPP) replaces Martin Schulz (S&D) as president of the European Parliament

Parliament president online
What the Parliament president does

Find out how the president gets elected, what the responsibilities are and how this is linked to your vote during the elections for the European Parliament

The Bureau of the European Parliament

MEPs have also elected 14 vice-presidents and five quaestors that are members of the Bureau: an influential Parliament body taking decisions on financial and administrative matters