Partager cette page: 

A delegation of the Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee, led by Juan Fernando López Aguilar (S&D, ES), will travel to Cyprus from 3 to 5 April 2018.

The purpose of the visit is to take stock of the progress made in the work of the Committee on Missing Persons in Cyprus (CMP), a bi-communal body established in 1981 whose main objective is to recover, identify, and return to their families, the remains of 2002 persons (492 Turkish Cypriots and 1,510 Greek Cypriots) who went missing during the inter-communal fighting of 1963 to 1964 and the events of 1974. The CMP objective is a humanitarian one, bringing closure to thousands of affected families through the return of the remains of their missing relatives.


The Delegation will have meetings with the Head of the United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus, Ms Elizabeth Spehar, the Members of the Committee on Missing Persons, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Nikos Christodoulides, the President of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Cyprus, Mr Demetris Syllouris, and the Presidential Commissioner for Humanitarian Issues. MEPs will also visit the CMP Anthropological Laboratory. They will also see the Relatives of Missing Persons (Turkish and Greek Cypriot community) at the EU House.



Participants include:


  • Mr Juan Fernando LÓPEZ AGUILAR, (S&D, Spain)  - Head of the Delegation
  • Ms Ana GOMES, (S&D, PT)
  • Mr Asim ADEMOV, (EPP, BG)
  • Mr Tomáš ZDECHOVSKỲ, (EPP, CS)
  • Mr Lefteris CHRISTOFOROU, (EPP, CY)
  • Mr Costas MAVRIDES, (S&D, CY)
  • Mr Demetris PAPADAKIS, (S&D, CY)