Main menu (press 'Enter')
Access to page content (press 'Enter')
Direct access to list of other websites

The European Ombudsman


EP President Martin Schulz and Ms. Erminia Mazzoni MEP
(Chairman Committee on Petitions)

On 14th March the European Ombudsman, Nikiforos Diamandouros, informed us of his intention to retire on 1 October 2013. It is as a result of this that a new election has been called.

Mr Diamandouros was elected European Ombudsman in 2003 and re-elected in 2005 and 2010. His successor will serve until the end of the current parliamentary term in 2014, and remain in office until the outcome of a new election, which Parliament is obliged to organise at the beginning of each new legislature.

The responsibilities of the European Ombudsman are considerable. It is by means of the European Ombudsman that European citizens are able to gain redress when examples of maladministration occur within the European Union Institutions or bodies. The European Ombudsman is elected by the European Parliament, after the candidates are heard in the Committee on Petitions.

This web-site is designed to provide Members of the European Parliament with much of the information which they will need to make their choice. The website will, moreover, enable individual citizens, from the European Union and beyond, to follow each stage of the procedure in an entirely transparent fashion. This site will be regularly updated whenever necessary.

A call for nominations was published in the Official Journal on 4 April 2013. Nominations must be forwarded to the President of the European Parliament no later than 8 May 2013 and require the support of at least 40 Members who are nationals of at least two Member States. Each Member may support only one nomination, otherwise their signature will be void.

The President will announce the name of the eligible candidates on 10 June during the Plenary Session in Strasbourg. The election of the new Ombudsman by Members of the European Parliament will take place during the Plenary Session in July.

We invite you to explore this website and to follow the whole procedure with us.

EP President Martin Schulz and Ms. Erminia Mazzoni MEP (Chairman Committee on Petitions)