7th parliamentary term
Conference of Delegation Chairs
6th parliamentary term
6th term Conference of Delegation Chairmen
6th term Europe delegations
6th term Non Europe delegations
Document search
Former delegations

Plenary documentsPlenary documents
Videos of plenary debatesVideos of plenary debates
The PresidentThe President
The Secretary GeneralThe Secretary General
Coming up in committeesComing up in committees
Think TankThink Tank


Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia

Armenia Georgia Azerbaijan

Archived on July 2009, 1st - These pages are not updated.

Meeting documents
Presentation and competencies

The relations between the European Parliament and the parliaments of the republics of the South Caucasus - Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia - are conducted within the framework of the Delegation to the Parliamentary Cooperation Committees EU-Armenia, EU-Azerbaijan and EU-Georgia (PCCs), as provided for in the Partnership and Cooperation Agreements (PCAs). These Agreements were signed on 22 April 1996 in Luxembourg and entered into force on 1 July 1999.
The European Parliament Delegation for Relations with the three Caucasian Republics was constituted on 17 November 1994. Prior to this date, the area was covered by the Delegation for relations with the republics of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).
The PCCs with the three countries were established in 2004. They exert parliamentary control over the implementation of the agreements and act as an open forum for debate on issues of common interest.  The Members of the PCCs are kept informed on the outcome of the Cooperation Council and the Committee (executive) and can express its view in recommendations addressed to the Cooperation Committee, the authorities of the partner countries, the European Commission and the Council.
The European Parliament Delegation to the EU-Armenia, EU-Azerbaijan and EU-Georgia PCCs is composed of 18 members and 13 substitutes. They hold two meetings per year: one in one of the working places of the European Parliament and one in the respective countries.