7th parliamentary term
Conference of Delegation Chairs
6th parliamentary term
6th term Conference of Delegation Chairmen
6th term Europe delegations
6th term Non Europe delegations
Document search
Former delegations

Plenary documentsPlenary documents
Videos of plenary debatesVideos of plenary debates
The PresidentThe President
The Secretary GeneralThe Secretary General
Coming up in committeesComing up in committees
Think TankThink Tank



Algeria Libya Tunisia Mauritania Morocco

Archived on July 2009, 1st - These pages are not updated.

Meeting documents
Presentation and competencies

The Delegation for relations with the Maghreb countries and the Arab Maghreb Union (including Libya) was created in 1979 following the first direct elections to the European Parliament. It covers the following States: Algeria, Morocco, Mauritania, Tunisia and Libya. Since the 1980s, regular meetings have been held with each of these countries. Meetings with Mauritania only began in 1998 and with Libya in 2002.
Meetings with the delegations from the Arab Maghreb Union have taken place only since the early 1990s. Since the sixth meeting in 1994, there have been no more official contacts.
The Western Sahara question does not form part of the delegation’s remit. This is why an ad hoc delegation was set up in 2001 to consider the problem. Its chairwoman, Mrs Lalumière, has published a report on the subject.