Our mission

The Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments advises the political bodies, Members and the secretariat of the European Parliament in their institutional cooperation and legislative dialogue with the national Parliaments. It provides support for interparliamentary activities, contributes to the implementation of the Treaty provisions on interparliamentary cooperation in the EP and provides expertise throughout the legislative cycle and other EP political competences.

The Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments acts as a knowledge centre for information regarding national Parliaments and provides information to the EP administration on best practices within national Parliaments. It represents the European Parliament in the administrative networks of interparliamentary cooperation. It manages relations with the officials that represent the national Parliaments in Brussels and maintains close links with their administrations.

The activities of the European Parliament's Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments are conducted under the political leadership of EP President Antonio Tajani and two Vice-Presidents, Mairead McGuinness (EPP, IE) and Boguslaw Liberadzki (S&D, PL). According to the EP's Rules of Procedure, the Conference of Presidents is the authority responsible for matters concerning relations with the national Parliaments of EU Member States.

The Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments is managed by Katrin Ruhrmann. It forms part of the EP's Directorate-General for the Presidency, headed by Director-General Markus Winkler.