Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Press release

Parliament appoints ministerial-level representatives for the Intergovernmental Conference

Intergovernmental Conference - 12-07-2007 - 16:54
Share / Save
Social networking sites

Elmar Brok (EPP-ED, DE), Enrique Barón Crespo (PES, ES) and Andrew Duff (ALDE, UK) will represent the European Parliament at the Intergovernmental Conference (IGC) to draft the new EU treaties, which is to start on 23 July.

The Conference of Presidents of the European Parliament, made up of the EP President and the chairs of the political groups, appointed on Thursday the three MEPs who will participate in the IGC meetings at ministerial level.
Moreover, EP President Hans-Gert Pöttering will join the IGC whenever it meets at Heads of State and Government level, as confirmed yesterday by the Portuguese Prime Minister and President-in-office of the Council José Sócrates, during the debate in Parliament on the Portuguese Presidency.
As stated in its Opinion on convening the IGC, approved on Wednesday by a large majority, Parliament aims to ensure that the IGC's work is entirely transparent.  Moreover, the EP will maintain an open dialogue with national parliaments and civil society throughout the IGC and during the following ratification procedure.
REF.: 20070712IPR09176