Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Press release

MEPs in Afghanistan condemn attack on Kabul parade

External relations - 29-04-2008 - 13:54
Share / Save
Social networking sites

A nine-member European Parliament delegation in Kabul has condemned Sunday's attack on a military parade there. MEPs extended their condolences to the families of the three people killed in the attack, and especially that of fellow parliamentarian Fazlulrahman Samkani, who had visited Brussels to meet MEPs in November 2007.

Despite the attack, the delegation pursues its work in Kabul this week, meeting members of the Wolesi and Meshrano Jirga parliamentary chambers, as well as talking to government ministers and visiting EU projects.
"Our presence in Kabul was the occasion to express to our Afghan colleagues the total solidarity of the European Union with Afghanistan in its struggle for freedom, democracy and development," said Chairman Philippe Morillon (ALDE, FR). After yesterday's attack "we are back to work now, meeting our Afghan colleagues today to exchange views on how to improve the situation in the country." "We denounce all forms of violence to destabilize the country. The people of Afghanistan deserve peace, to permit the reconstruction of the country with international assistance and to create the conditions for the economic development of the country," Mr Morillon said.
The nine-member delegation of MEPs from the EP Standing Delegation for Relations with Afghanistan is led by Philippe Morillon (ALDE, FR) and its other members are: John Attard-Montalto (PES, MT), André Brie (EUL/NGL, DE), Giulietto Chiesa (PES, IT), Ana Gomes (PES, PT), Romano Larussa (UEN, IT), Véronique Mathieu (EPP-ED, FR), Nickolay Mladenov (EPP-ED, BG), and Katrin Saks (PES, ET).
REF.: 20080429IPR27904