EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Committee on Legal Affairs

2008/0055(COD)

22.1.2009

OPINION

of the Committee on Legal Affairs

for the Committee on Transport and Tourism

on the proposal for a directive of the European Parliament and of the Council amending Directive 2005/35/EC on ship-source pollution and on the introduction of penalties for infringements (COM(2008)0134 - C6-0142/2008 - 2008/0055(COD))

Rapporteur: Eva Lichtenberger

PA_Legam

EN

AMENDMENTS

The Committee on Legal Affairs calls on the Committee on Transport and Tourism, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following amendment in its report:

Amendment 1

Proposal for a directive – amending act Recital 3 a (new)

Text proposed by the Commission

Amendment

(3a) A consistent set of legislative measures has already been adopted at EU level to reinforce maritime safety and help prevent ship-source pollution. The legislation in question is addressed to flag States, ship owners and charterers, classification societies, port States and coastal States. The existing system of sanctions for illegal ship-source discharges supplementing that legislation needs to be further strengthened by the introduction of criminal penalties for any illegal discharge.

Justification

A link to current legislation should be made in order to guarantee legal consistency and legal certainty.

Title	Ship-source pollution and penalties for infringements
References	COM(2008)0134 - C6-0142/2008 - 2008/0055(COD)
Committee responsible	TRAN
Opinion by Date announced in plenary	JURI 13.3.2008
Drafts(wo)man Date appointed	Eva Lichtenberger 22.9.2008
Discussed in committee	4.11.2008 15.12.2008
Date adopted	20.1.2009
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & 20 \\ -: & 0 \\ 0: & 0 \end{array}$
Members present for the final vote	Carlo Casini, Bert Doorn, Monica Frassoni, Giuseppe Gargani, Neena Gill, Klaus-Heiner Lehne, Katalin Lévai, Antonio López-Istúriz White, Manuel Medina Ortega, Hartmut Nassauer, Aloyzas Sakalas, Eva- Riitta Siitonen, Francesco Enrico Speroni, Diana Wallis, Rainer Wieland, Jaroslav Zvěřina, Tadeusz Zwiefka
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Eva Lichtenberger, József Szájer, Jacques Toubon

PROCEDURE