EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

2004



2009

Session document

A6-0378/2008

9.10.2008

RECOMMENDATION

on the proposal for a Council and Commission decision on the conclusion of the Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, of the other part (8225/2008 – COM(2008)0182 – C6-0255/2008 – 2008/0073(AVC))

Committee on Foreign Affairs

Rapporteur: Doris Pack

RR\409689EN.doc

Symbols for procedures		
*	Consultation procedure	
	majority of the votes cast	
**I	Cooperation procedure (first reading)	
	majority of the votes cast	
**II	Cooperation procedure (second reading)	
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the common position	
	majority of Parliament's component Members, to reject or amend	
	the common position	
***	Assent procedure	
	majority of Parliament's component Members except in cases	
	covered by Articles 105, 107, 161 and 300 of the EC Treaty and	
	Article 7 of the EU Treaty	
***I	Codecision procedure (first reading)	
	majority of the votes cast	
***II	Codecision procedure (second reading)	
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the common position	
	majority of Parliament's component Members, to reject or amend	
	the common position	
***III	Codecision procedure (third reading)	
	majority of the votes cast, to approve the joint text	
(The tyr	be of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the	
Commis		
Comm	551011.)	

EN

CONTENTS

	Page
DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION	2
PROCEDURE	2

PE409.689v02-00

DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

on the proposal for a Council and Commission decision on the conclusion of the Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, of the other part (8225/2008 - COM(2008)0182 - C6-0255/2008 - 2008/0073(AVC))

(Assent procedure)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the proposal for a Council and Commission decision (8225/2008 COM(2008)0182),
- having regard to the draft Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, of the other part (8226/2008),
- having regard to the request for assent submitted by the Council pursuant to Article 300(3), second subparagraph, in conjunction with Article 300(2), first subparagraph, last sentence and Article 310 of the EC Treaty (C6-0255/2008),
- having regard to Article 101 of the EAEC Treaty,
- having regard to Rules 75 and 83(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (A6-0378/2008),
- 1. Gives its assent to the conclusion of the agreement;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Title	Stabilisation and Association Agreement between the EC and Bosnia and Herzegovina
References	08225/2008 - C6-0255/2008 - COM(2008)0182 - 2008/0073(AVC)
Date of request for Parliament's assent	2.7.2008
Committee responsible Date announced in plenary	AFET 8.7.2008
Committee(s) asked for opinion(s) Date announced in plenary	INTA 8.7.2008
Not delivering opinions Date of decision	INTA 5.5.2008
Rapporteur(s) Date appointed	Doris Pack 19.10.2005
Discussed in committee	6.10.2008
Date adopted	7.10.2008
Result of final vote	+: 36 -: 0 0: 0
Members present for the final vote	Bastiaan Belder, Colm Burke, Philip Claeys, Giorgos Dimitrakopoulos, Ana Maria Gomes, Alfred Gomolka, Klaus Hänsch, Richard Howitt, Anna Ibrisagic, Joost Lagendijk, Emilio Menéndez del Valle, Francisco José Millán Mon, Raimon Obiols i Germà, Vural Öger, João de Deus Pinheiro, Hubert Pirker, Samuli Pohjamo, Michel Rocard, Raül Romeva i Rueda, Libor Rouček, Flaviu Călin Rus, Katrin Saks, José Ignacio Salafranca Sánchez-Neyra, Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, György Schöpflin, Marek Siwiec, Hannes Swoboda, Charles Tannock, Geoffrey Van Orden, Ari Vatanen, Zbigniew Zaleski, Josef Zieleniec
Substitute(s) present for the final vote	Árpád Duka-Zólyomi, Gisela Kallenbach, Tunne Kelam, Miloš Koterec, Erik Meijer, Doris Pack
Substitute(s) under Rule 178(2) present for the final vote	Juan Fraile Cantón

PROCEDURE