Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
 Full text 
Post-briefing item

Tackling racism in football: MEPs want matches stopped in serious cases

Sport - 20-03-2006 - 13:23
Share / Save
Social networking sites

Parliament adopted a resolution strongly condemning all forms of racism at football matches, both on and off the field. Parliament calls on the UEFA and all other competition organisers in Europe to ensure that referees have the option, according to clear and strict guidelines, to stop or abandon matches in the event of serious racist abuse.

The House commends the excellent work that organisations, including UEFA and FARE (Football Against Racism in Europe) have done in tackling these problems.  MEPs call on all those with a high profile in football to speak out regularly against racism.  The House calls on national football associations, leagues, clubs, players’ unions and supporters’ groups to apply UEFA best practice, such as the UEFA Ten-Point Plan of Action.  Finally, the House calls on UEFA and all other competition organisers in Europe to consider the option of imposing sporting sanctions on national football associations and clubs whose supporters or players commit serious racist offences, including the option to remove persistent offenders from their competitions.
The written declaration was adopted in Strasbourg by over half (423 out of 732 MEPs as on 1 March 2006) of all MEPs having signed the declaration. The declaration was originally drafted by the following MEPs: Emine BOZKURT (PES, NL), Claude MORAES (PES, UK), Christopher HEATON-HARRIS (EPP-ED, UK), Cem ÖZDEMIR (Greens/EFA, DE) and Alexander Nuno ALVARO (ALDE, DE).

Further information :