Full text 
Procedure : 2005/0182(COD)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : A6-0365/2005

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 13/12/2005 - 12

Votes :

PV 14/12/2005 - 8.1

Texts adopted :


Tuesday, 13 December 2005 - StrasbourgFinal edition

12. Data retention ***I (debate)

Report on the proposal for a directive of the European Parliament and of the Council on the retention of data processed in connection with the provision of public electronic communication services and amending Directive 2002/58/EC [COM(2005)0438 - C6-0293/2005 - 2005/0182(COD)] - Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. Rapporteur: Alexander Nuno Alvaro (A6-0365/2005)

The following spoke: Franco Frattini (Vice-President of the Commission) and Charles Clarke (President-in-Office of the Council).

Alexander Nuno Alvaro introduced report.

The following spoke: Herbert Reul (draftsman of the opinion of the ITRE Committee), Charlotte Cederschiöld (draftsman of the opinion of the IMCO Committee), Ewa Klamt, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Wolfgang Kreissl-Dörfler, on behalf of the PSE Group, Jean-Marie Cavada, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Kathalijne Maria Buitenweg, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Georgios Karatzaferis, on behalf of the IND/DEM Group, Romano Maria La Russa, on behalf of the UEN Group, Irena Belohorská, Non-attached Member, Ioannis Varvitsiotis, Martine Roure, Sophia in 't Veld, Giusto Catania, Johannes Blokland, Brian Crowley and Andreas Mölzer.


The following spoke: Carlos Coelho, Catherine Trautmann, Sarah Ludford, Athanasios Pafilis, Bogdan Pęk, Agustín Díaz de Mera García Consuegra, Stavros Lambrinidis, Gerard Batten, Barbara Kudrycka, Michael Cashman, Agnes Schierhuber, Rosa Díez González, Alexander Stubb, Edith Mastenbroek, András Gyürk, Inger Segelström, Piia-Noora Kauppi, Libor Rouček, Franco Frattini, Charles Clarke and Ewa Klamt, who made a personal statement in response to the remarks made by Sophia in 't Veld, Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann and Kathalijne Maria Buitenweg.

The debate closed.

Vote: Minutes of 14.12.2005, Item 8.1.

Last updated: 10 May 2006Legal notice