Full text 
Procedure : 2007/0236(CNS)
Document stages in plenary
Select a document: :

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 23/09/2008 - 4
CRE 23/09/2008 - 4

Votes :

PV 23/09/2008 - 5.22
Explanations of votes
Explanations of votes
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - BrusselsFinal edition

4. Combating terrorism * - Protection of personal data * (debate)

Report: on the proposal for a Council Framework decision amending Framework Decision 2002/475/JHA on combating terrorism [COM(2007)0650 – C6-0466/2007 – 2007/0236(CNS)] - Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. Rapporteur: Roselyne Lefrançois (A6-0323/2008)

Report: on the draft Council Framework Decision on the protection of personal data processed in the framework of police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters [(16069/2007 - C6-0010/2008 - 2005/0202(CNS)] - Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. Rapporteur: Martine Roure (A6-0322/2008)

Roselyne Lefrançois introduced the report.

Martine Roure introduced the report.

The following spoke: Jean-Pierre Jouyet (President-in-Office of the Council) and Jacques Barrot (Vice-President of the Commission).

The following spoke: Luis de Grandes Pascual (draftsman of the opinion of the JURI Committee), Panayiotis Demetriou, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Claudio Fava, on behalf of the PSE Group, Alexander Alvaro, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Brian Crowley, on behalf of the UEN Group, and Kathalijne Maria Buitenweg, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group.


The following spoke: Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Gerard Batten, on behalf of the IND/DEM Group, Koenraad Dillen, Non-attached Member, Jean-Pierre Jouyet, who answered speakers' questions before leaving the Chamber, Manfred Weber, Bárbara Dührkop Dührkop, Sophia in 't Veld, who also expressed her disappointment that the Council was not present for the whole debate (the President noted this but stated that the President-in-Office of the Council had given Parliament notice of his departure in advance), Bogusław Rogalski, Angelika Beer, Giusto Catania, Nils Lundgren, Jana Bobošíková, Carlos Coelho, Stavros Lambrinidis, Sarah Ludford, Konrad Szymański, Adamos Adamou, Georgios Georgiou, Ashley Mote, Urszula Gacek, Wolfgang Kreissl-Dörfler, Jean-Marie Cavada, Mirosław Mariusz Piotrowski, Athanasios Pafilis, Sylwester Chruszcz and Ioannis Varvitsiotis.


The following spoke: Genowefa Grabowska, Marek Aleksander Czarnecki, Mario Borghezio, Luca Romagnoli, Herbert Reul, Jörg Leichtfried, Toomas Savi, Geoffrey Van Orden, Marianne Mikko, Olle Schmidt, Jas Gawronski, Daciana Octavia Sârbu, Mihael Brejc, Iliana Malinova Iotova, Hubert Pirker, Andrzej Jan Szejna, Charles Tannock, Proinsias De Rossa, Gay Mitchell and Libor Rouček.

The following spoke under the 'catch-the-eye' procedure: Dumitru Oprea, Ioan Mircea Paşcu, Marios Matsakis, Carlo Fatuzzo, Silvia-Adriana Ţicău, Jim Allister, Nicolae Vlad Popa and Antonio Masip Hidalgo.

The following spoke: Jacques Barrot, Roselyne Lefrançois and Martine Roure.

The debate closed.

Vote: minutes of 23.09.2008, item 5.22 and minutes of 23.09.2008, item 5.23.

The following spoke: Gerard Batten, who made a personal statement in response to the remarks made by Sarah Ludford.

(The sitting was suspended at 12.00 pending voting time and resumed at 12.05.)

Last updated: 12 November 2008Legal notice