Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
11 February 2014
Question for written answer
to the Commission
Rule 117
Iñaki Irazabalbeitia Fernández (Verts/ALE)

 Subject:  Status of Gibraltar in the Union

In response to a parliamentary question asked by the Basque MP Jon Inarritu of the Amaiur coalition, the Spanish Government maintains that Gibraltar is not a territory of the European Union but rather a European territory for whose external relations a Member State is responsible, pursuant to Article 355(3) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU).

This interpretation of the treaties is exactly the opposite to what is inferred from reading Article 52 of the Treaty on European Union and Article 355 TFEU together. In fact, Article 355(3) TFEU confirms that the treaties apply to these territories.

What is the status of Gibraltar with respect to the European Union?

Does this status correspond to that indicated by the Spanish Government?

Does the Commission intend to clarify the situation to the Spanish authorities? If so, in what respect?

Original language of question: ESOJ C 307, 10/09/2014
Last updated: 27 February 2014Legal notice