Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
21 May 2012
Question for written answer
to the Commission
Rule 117
Phil Prendergast (S&D)

 Subject: Saorview and universal service provision obligations

In the context of the switchover from analogue to digital television in Ireland, due on 24 October 2012, pursuant to Communication COM(2005) 0204, Saorview was established as Ireland’s national digital television service by RTÉ, Ireland’s national television and radio broadcaster.

Due to the topography of the Irish territory, Saorview estimates that 2 % of the population will not be serviced by the terrestrial digital network, which necessitates the purchasing and expert installation of special satellite reception equipment by households within the coverage gap areas.

Saorview estimates that the cost of this equipment for each household will be in the region of EUR 200. The specialised installation may cost up to twice that amount.

According to Saorview, the areas deprived of digital coverage in the constituency of Ireland South alone are:

Dunmore East, Liccaun, Portmacaw, Portally, Balymacaw, Somerville, Tramore, Annestown, Kilcomeragh, Malton Bridge, Lemybrien, Glendalligan, Glen Upper, Knockavalley, Ross, Kilbrack, Glenstown, Whitestown, Crooke, Coxstown East.

Knocklofy, Knockballiniry, Ardfinnan, Ahenry, Clashnamult, Ballydavid, Newtown, Pollagh, Ballykerin, Cappanaleigh, Turraheen, Lattin North, Brookville, Moorabbey, Galbally, Cordangan, Lisheen Upper, Rossmore Village.

Dingle, Deerpark, Churchfield, Foheragh, Coomnahincha, Mountluke, Valencia, Ballynabloun, Ballyintour, Turnamucka.

Ballydehob, Ardan, Murragh, Enniskean, Derrigre, Kilbeg, Lissagroom, Lissagroom, Glencarney.

Mauricetown, Dromroe.

Could the Commission indicate whether this situation is in conformity with the universal service provision obligations required for services of general interest?

 OJ C 167 E, 13/06/2013
Last updated: 8 June 2012Legal notice