Rules of Procedure of the European Parliament
Provisional Edition - January 2017


Rule 204 : Committee bureaux

1.   At the first committee meeting after the appointment of committee members pursuant to Rule 199, the committee shall elect a bureau consisting of a chair and of vice-chairs who shall be elected from among the full members of that committee in separate ballots. The number of vice-chairs to be elected shall be determined by Parliament upon a proposal by the Conference of Presidents. The diversity of Parliament must be reflected in the composition of the bureau of each committee; it shall not be permissible to have an all male or all female bureau or for all of the Vice-Chairs to come from the same Member State.

2.   Where the number of nominations corresponds to the number of seats to be filled, the election shall take place by acclamation. However, if there is more than one candidate on a given ballot, or members or political group(s) reaching at least the high threshold in the committee requested a vote, the election shall take place by secret ballot.

If there is only one candidate, the election shall be won by an absolute majority of the votes cast, these to include votes cast for and against.

If there is more than one candidate, the candidate who obtains an absolute majority of the votes cast at the first ballot shall be elected. At the second ballot, the candidate who obtains the highest number of votes shall be elected. In the event of a tie, the oldest candidate shall be elected.

3.   The following Rules concerning the Officers of Parliament shall apply mutatis mutandis to committees: Rule 14 (Provisional Chair), Rule 15 (Nominations and general provisions), Rule 16 (Election of President - opening address), Rule 19 (Term of office of Officers) and Rule 20 (Vacancies).

Last updated: 13 January 2017Legal notice