2011 - Sustainable management of natural resources

29-11-2011 11:00-18:30
European Parliament Brussels - Paul Henri Spaak (PHS) 1A002 -
10th STOA Annual Lecture:

Sustainable management
of natural resources


  • 10:30 - 11:00 Press Conference with Paul Rübig and Csaba Tabajdi 
  • 11:00 - 11:15 Welcome by Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament, or Giles Chichester, Vice-President responsible for STOA and Paul Rübig, STOA Chairman 
  • 11:15 -12:45 Keynote speeches by: Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission, Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship Development 
    Koji Omi, Founder and Chairman, STS (Science and Technology in Society) forum
    Representative of Polish Presidency
  • 13:00 - 14:45 Lunch with guest speakers
    Welcome by Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament, or Giles Chichester,Vice-President responsible for STOA and Paul Rübig
    Keynote speech by Dominique Ristori, general director JRC
    Members of the STOA Panel, other Members and invited guests (40 people) 
  • 15:00 - 17:00 Workshop and roundtable on management of natural resources
    Introductory presentations:
    Preliminary results from an ongoing STOA project
    Roundtable speakers:
    Martin Parry, Visiting Professor at The Centre for Environmental Policy and Visiting Research Fellow at The Grantham Institute, Imperial College London
    Thomas E. Graedel, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University 
  • 17:00 - 19:00 Keynote speeches by:
    John Anthony Allan, Professor Emeritus at King's College London, Stockholm Water Prize 2008
    Peter A. Wilderer, Director, Institute for Advanced Studies on Sustainability, Technical University of Munich, Stockholm Water Prize 2003
    Managing water supply and sanitation in a crowded world Mathis Wackernagel, Founder and Executive Director of Global Footprint Network ' The new era of biocapacity constraints: measuring how much nature we have and how much we use’ 
  • 19:00 - 20:00 Cocktail for the participants of the STOA Annual Lecture 
  • 20:00 - 22:00 Sustainable Energy Prize

Event contact

Responsible for STOA Annual Lecture 2011:

Paul Rübig, MEP, STOA Chairman
Csaba Tabajdi, MEP, STOA Panel member
Miklós Györffi, STOA Secretariat

+32-2-28 32505