STOA Panel - 8th Legislature


 Composition and role of the STOA Panel

The STOA Panel forms an integral part of the structure of the European Parliament. It is composed of 25 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) who are nominated by nine permanent Committees of the Parliament: AGRI, CULT, EMPL, ENVI, IMCO, ITRE, JURI, LIBE and TRAN. The EP Vice-President responsible for STOA is a Member of the Panel ex officio. The members of the STOA Panel are appointed for a renewable two-and-a-half-year period.

The STOA Bureau is comprised of the STOA Chair, the STOA 1st Vice Chair and the STOA 2nd Vice Chair, all three elected by the STOA Panel, and the EP Vice-President responsible for STOA.

The STOA Panel carries the political responsibility for STOA's work. The Panel decides on all STOA's activities. In its meetings the Panel reviews progress and hears presentations of ongoing or recently-completed projects.

The Panel meetings are open to the public and can be followed via webstreaming. All MEPs are invited to participate, but only Panel members vote. 

 Thematic priority areas

As outlilned during the Panel meeting on 9 July 2015 by Dr Paul Rübig, STOA Chair, in the first half of the 8th legislature the following areas will be the main focus of the Panel:

  1. Eco-efficient transport and modern energy solutions;
  2. Sustainable management of natural resources;
  3. Potential and challenges of the Internet;
  4. Health and new technologies in the life sciences;
  5. Science policy, communication and global networking.

  STOA Bureau