Science meets Parliaments

28-11-2017 14:00 - 17:30
European Parliament Brussels - Paul Henri Spaak (PHS) 7C050



  Webstream available





Draft Programme



  • 14:00 – 14:05   Welcome by EP Vice-President Lívia Járóka 
  • 14:05 – 14:20   Opening Session, moderated by Vladimír Šucha, Director-General of the Joint Research Centre (JRC), European Commission
Statements by:
Jerzy Buzek, MEP and Committee on Industry, Research and Energy Chair
Tibor Navracsics, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, responsible for the Joint Research Centre
  • 14:20 – 15:20 Panel discussion on the role of science in a post-fact society, moderated by Eva Kaili, MEP and STOA Chair
Scene-setting: Vladimír Šucha, Director-General of the Joint Research Centre (JRC), European Commission
Paul Rübig, MEP and STOA First Vice-Chair
Toma┼ż Boh, State Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Sport, Slovenia
Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chairman of Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM) High Level Group, European Commission
  • Q&A sessions
  • 15:20 – 16:05 Science meets Regions 2017 – Role of regions and cities in the evidence - informed policy-making

introduction and moderator by Markku Markkula, Committee of the Regions' First Vice-President

Heinz Lehmann, Regional Parliament of Saxony, Germany
Tanya Hristova, Mayor of the Municipality of Gabrovo, Bulgaria
Tomáš Michálek, Slovak Academy of Sciences
Tomáš Boh, State Secretary, Minoistry of Education, Science and Sport, Slovenia
Juan Monzó Cabrera, Director General of Universities and Research, Region of Murcia, Spain
  • 16:05 – 16:20      Coffee break
  • 16:20 – 17:05   Parallel thematic discussions
(A)"Young scientists challenge MEPs" 
Moderator: Georgi Pirinski, MEP and STOA panel Member
Els Heinsalu, National Institute of Chemical Physics and Biophysics, Tallinn
Vanessa Petroni, Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Malta
Koen Vermeir, Global Young Academy representative
(B)"Art and science are essential for innovation in industry"
Moderator: Jutta Thielen Del Pozo, JRC Head of Scientific Development Unit, European Commission
Johannes Vogel, Director General of the Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
Ralph Dum, Media Convergence and Social Media Unit, DG CNECT, European Commission
Reet Aus, Designer and Art Director, Upmade, Estonia
  • 17:05 – 17:20   Feedback from thematic tables by moderators
  • 17:20 – 17:30   Closing remarks by Eva Kaili, MEP and STOA Chair and Vladimír Šucha, Director-General of the Joint Research Centre (JRC), European Commission

 Watch the Europarl TV clip

  • URL