skip to content

President Tajani on the future of Europe debate with Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki

Press Release

European Parliament President, Antonio Tajani, received the Prime Minister of Poland, Mateusz Morawiecki, today in Strasbourg. The meeting took place in the framework of President Tajani's initiative to invite EU Heads of State and Government to debate the future of Europe in plenary.

Following Prime Minister Morawiecki’s address, President Tajani stated:

“I want to thank Prime Minister Morawiecki for his participation in today’s debate.

Poland is synonymous with Solidarność, the compelling force of solidarity that brought down borders and secured freedom for generations of Poles and Europeans. By joining the European Union, Poland chose to be part of a community of values based on the same solidarity, freedom and the rule of law. We expect Poland to respect the basic rules of our community, which include a clear separation between the executive and judiciary powers.

Solidarity is a two ways street. Since its accession in 2004, Poland has benefitted from considerable EU support and seized its economic opportunities. The European Parliament wants to maintain a strong cohesion policy with an adequate overall budget, also funded with own resources.

We count on Poland to show solidarity with other Member States confronted with the pressures of the migration crisis. The European Union's own survival depends on the handling of migration flows. Poland should contribute in addressing these challenges showing European responsibility.

We can understand that some Member States might yet not be ready to receive asylum seekers. This is why the Dublin reform adopted by the European Parliament provides a transition period for such countries. The approval of this reform by the Member States cannot, however, be delayed any longer,” concluded Tajani.


Click here to follow this morning’s debate in plenary.

Click here to follow the press conference of President Tajani and Prime Minister Morawiecki.



Heads of state and government from Ireland, Croatia, Portugal, France, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands have already debated with MEPs in plenary.

Over the next few months, leaders from Greece, Alexis Tsipras (September); Estonia, Jüri Ratas (October); Denmark, Lars Løkke Rasmussen (November) are scheduled to attend. The President of Romania, Klaus Iohannis, will speak on 23 October, German Chancellor, Angela Merkel, will address plenary in November, Spanish Prime Minister, Pedro Sánchez, in December and Czech Prime Minister, Andrej Babiš, and Finnish Prime Minister, Juha Sipilä, in January next year.

For further information:


Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

More Refuse Accept