skip to content

President Tajani on the visit of Chancellor Merkel: we need to change Europe together

Press Release

European Parliament President, Antonio Tajani, received the German Chancellor, Angela Merkel, today in Strasbourg in the framework of his initiative to invite EU Heads of State and Government to debate the future of Europe in plenary with MEPs.


Following Chancellor Merkel´s address, President Tajani stated:

“Germany has a key responsibility in moving the European project forward. I thank Chancellor Angela Merkel for her contribution to our Future of Europe debates. I insisted with her on the need to immediately approve the reform of the European asylum system and of the Dublin Regulation, with the aim of introducing a mandatory system to evenly redistribute refugees between all Member States. I also insisted with Chancellor Merkel on the urgency of an ambitious Marshall Plan for Africa, to create opportunities for Africans in their countries and thus reduce migratory flows toward Europe.”


“We have to change Europe, and a crucial change to be made is to give the European Parliament more power. We are the only European institution directly elected by the citizens. This is why I urged Germany to support our request to give the European Parliament the right to present laws. Today this is not the case and we have to change this situation. It is crucial for our citizens,” said President Tajani.


“Europe needs a common foreign policy and has to speak with one voice to become a real relevant actor on the international scene. The European Union has also to work towards a common defence policy, with the perspective of having its own army,” concluded the President of the European Parliament.


Click here to watch the debate.



Heads of state and government from Ireland, Croatia, Portugal, France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Greece, Estonia and Romania have already debated with MEPs in plenary.


Lars Løkke Rasmussen of Denmark will address the plenary in the second plenary in November and the President of Cyprus, Nicos Anastasiades in December.  Spanish Prime Minister, Pedro Sánchez and Finnish Prime Minister, Juha Sipilä, in January; Italian Prime Minister, Giuseppe Conte in February and Slovak Prime Minister, Peter Pellegrini in March.

For further information:


Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

More Refuse Accept