skip to content

Directorate-General for Security

The Directorate-General for Security (DG SAFE) works to facilitate Parliament activities, while guaranteeing sufficient protection to people, assets and information.

Its main tasks are:

  • providing the most appropriate security and safety services to Members and the institution;
  • deploying appropriate security measures, based on applicable security policies and sound risk assessment;
  • facilitating accreditation and access to Parliament premises and welcoming a wide range of occupants and visitors, including - Members and their entourage, Parliament and other EU institutions officials, service providers, journalists, interest group representatives, diplomats and general visitors;
  • deploying and managing innovative and efficient physical access control systems;
  • communicating, training and informing on security and safety matters;
  • cooperating with all entities and groups to enhance security posture and create a positive security culture;
  • assuring security, safety and prevention needs 24 hours a day, ensuring remote monitoring of buildings and technical installations.




Since December 2013 Director for Strategy and Resources in DG SAFE
May 2010 - December 2013 Director of Resource Management – head of the task force responsible for the preparation and implementation of the general security internalisation process approved by the Bureau in June 2012 - DG PRES
March 2010 - April 2010 Advisor to the Deputy Secretary-General, DG PRES
May 2005 - February 2010 Head of Resources Unit in DG COMM
January 2004 - April 2005 Head of Budget and Finance Unit, DG PRES
June 2002 - January 2004 Head of Sector in the Budget and Finance Unit, DG PRES
2001 - 2002 Administrator - Horizontal Matters Unit - Asia, DG RELEX - European Commission
1994 - 1998 Administrator - Europe and New Independent States, External Security Policy, DG RELEX, European Commission
1992 - 1993 Administrator - Unit Budget & Finances, Directorate for the Management of Delegations, DG ADMIN - European Commission
1983 - 1991 Assistant - Unit Budget & Finances, Directorate for the Management of Delegations, DG ADMIN - European Commission


Director: Guy MOLS
Directorate A

Director: Guy MOLS

Proximity and Assistance Security and Safety (PASS)
Director: Mathieu THOMANN
Directorate B

Director: Mathieu THOMANN

Fire, First aid and Prevention
Director (acting): Elio CAROZZA
Directorate C

Director (acting): Elio CAROZZA

Strategy and Resources

European Parliament

adresses and phone numbers

Bruxelles - Brussels
Rue Wiertz
B-1047 Bruxelles
Central Switchboard
+32 / (0) 2 28 4 21 11

Plateau du Kirchberg
B.P. 1601
L-2929 Luxembourg
Central Switchboard
+352 / 4300 1

1, avenue du Président Robert
CS 91024
F-67070 Strasbourg cedex
Central Switchboard
+32 / (0) 2 28 4 21 11


Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

More Refuse Accept