Recent activities

 (Strasbourg ).

The presented publication is a first compilation of files describing the multi-faceted achievements of the European Parliament since the Lisbon Treaty, provided by committee secretariats and policy departments, the newly established European Parliament Research Service (DG EPRS), the services of DG Communication and the Cabinet of the Secretary-General.

 (Brussels ).

This study embodies work-in-progress on a long-term project being undertaken by the Parliament’s European Added Value Unit, in conjunction with the office of the Secretary-General and the Economic Governance Support Unit, in order to try to identify and analyse the ‘cost of non-Europe’ in certain policy fields.

 (European Parliament, Brussels ).

Klaus Welle delivered a key-note speech at the conference of the Association of European Chambers of Commerce and Industry (Eurochambres) ‘What next for Better Law-Making in Europe? Getting the Quality and Quantity Right’. “For us, 'better legislation' should be the equivalent to 'total quality management', a concept originally coming from Toyota” began his address Secretary-General of the European Parliament.

Family picture - Klaus Welle with members of staff of the Directorate-General for Parliamentary Research Services (DG EPRS) on the occasion of the DG EPRS Annual Meeting

On 9 January 2014, the European Parliamentary Research Service EPRS Annual Meeting (EPRS - European Parliamentary Research Service) was addressed by Klaus Welle, the Secretary-General. DG EPRS will allow the Parliament to build up its in-house expertise explained Klaus Welle.

 (Brussels ).

Klaus Welle, Secretary-General updated the Bureau of the European Parliament on the One-Stop-Shop for the Members. The One-Stop-Shop is a concept which main objective is to provide administrative and support assistance to the Members of the European Parliament at one location. The new service shall gradually function by beginning-2014 and to be fully operational after the European elections in 2014.

Anthony Teasdale, First Director-General of the new DG for Parliamentary Research Service established by a Bureau's decision on 20 May 2013

At the enlarged policy management team meeting (14 November 2014), Klaus Welle, Secretary-General of the European Parliament, commented on the purpose of the new Directorate-General for Parliamentary Research Service, which was created by a decision of the Bureau of the European Parliament taken on 20 May 2013. Anthony Teasdale has been appointed the first Director-General of the Parliamentary Research Service.

 (Brussels ).

From 9 to 11 May 2014, the European Parliament will open its doors to 5000 young people from across Europe. We will provide them with a unique forum by staging the "European Youth Event 2014" - or in short, the EYE 2014.

Christian Pennera, Jurisconsult of the European Parliament and Head of the Legal Service, retired on 1 November 2013

Klaus Welle pays tribute to Christian Pennera, the European Parliament Jurisconsult and Head of the Legal Service on the occasion of his retirement.

 (Frankfurt am Main ).

Secretary-General Klaus Welle took part in a working seminar with officials of the European Central Bank (ECB) in Frankfurt. On this occasion Mr Welle addressed the staffers from the ECB on on-going issues concerning further economic, political and administrative developments in the European Union in connection to the questions of democratic scrutiny in the framework of the arising Banking Union.


The Secretary-General

The Secretary-General is Parliament's most senior official.  As his title implies. he heads the Secretariat.  The Bureau decides the Secretariat's membership and organisation.  The Secretary-General is responsible for Parliament's administration.  He is appointed by the Bureau under Rule 207 of the Rules of Procedure.


If you need general information about the European Parliament or the European Union, please contact the

Klaus Welle
Secretary-General of the European Parliament
Rue Wiertz 60
1047 Bruxelles