skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


MEPs endorse composition of new temporary committee to investigate financial crimes


MEPs have approved the nomination of 45 members to the new “Special Committee on Financial Crimes, Tax Evasion and Tax Avoidance” without a vote.


There was no objection to the decision to distribute the 45 seats on the committee roughly in proportion to the political representation within Parliament. Consequently, the decision was adopted without the need for a vote.

According to the Committee’s mandate - which was adopted during the last plenary session - its work will include examining “national schemes providing tax privileges”, VAT fraud and the problems of ensuring tax compliance in the digital economy.

Next steps

The special inquiry will hold its first gathering on 22 March when members are expected to select a Chair, Vice Chairs and rapporteurs. The Committee has a 12-month mandate.

Further information

Members of the committee

Adopted mandate