skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Composition of parliamentary committees set for the new term


The numbers of MEPs to sit in Parliament’s twenty committees and two sub-committees for the new legislative term, reflecting the political balance of the House, were approved in a vote on Wednesday. The committee’s membership lists were approved on Thursday.

MEPs voting during a committee meeting
MEPs voting during a committee meeting

Numbers of members per committee and sub-committee as voted by MEPs:

Committee on Foreign Affairs: 71,

Committee on Development: 28,

Committee on International Trade: 41,

Committee on Budgets: 41,

Committee on Budgetary Control: 30,

Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs: 61,

Committee on Employment and Social Affairs: 55,

Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety: 69,

Committee on Industry, Research and Energy: 67,

Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection: 40,

Committee on Transport and Tourism: 49,

Committee on Regional Development: 43,

Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development: 45,

Committee on Fisheries: 25,

Committee on Culture and Education: 31,

Committee on Legal Affairs: 25,

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs: 60,

Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 25,

Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality: 35,

Committee on Petitions: 35,

Sub-committee on Human Rights: 30, and

Sub-committee on Security and Defence: 30.

Rules on the composition of committees

According to Parliament's Rules of procedure, the composition of its committees should as far as possible reflect the composition of Parliament as a whole. The proportional distribution of committee seats among political groups must not depart from the nearest appropriate whole number.

Membership in committees approved on Thursday

On Thursday, the House decided on the composition of committees. The list of full members of each committee is available at the link on the right.

The political groups have yet to communicate the lists of their substitute members in the committees.

Procedure: Numerical strength of committees

Press Contact


Press Service
Telephone number (+32) 2 28 32971 (BXL)
Telephone number (+33) 3 881 73839 (STR)
Mobile number (+32) 498 98 33 27