skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Lux Prize for European Cinema - 10 finalists revealed


The European Parliament awards an annual "LUX Prize" for European cinema to help promote cinema, make films accessible to larger audiences and encourage debate about values and social issues across Europe. The three finalists will be announced at the end of July.

The nominations were revealed by Mrs. Doris Pack, LUX Prize coordinator,  Mrs. Olga Sehnalova, Member of the European Parliament (S&D, Czech Republic) and Mr. Karel Och, Artistic Director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival and member of the LUX Prize Selection Panel.  

The official selection for the 2014 LUX Prize is (in alphabetical order):

  • Bande des filles (Girlhood), by Céline Sciamma – France
  • Class enemy (Razrednl Sovraznik), by Rok Biček - Slovenia
  • Hermosa juventud (Beautiful Youth), by Jaime Rosales – Spain
  • Ida, by Pawel Pawlikowski – Poland, Denmark
  • Le meraviglie (The Wonders), by Alice Rohrwacher - Italy, Switzerland, Germany
  • Macondo, by Sudabeh Mortezai – Austria
  • Stations of the cross, by Dietrich Brüggemann - Germany
  • Turist (Force majeure), by Ruben Östlund - Sweden, France
  • White god, by Kornél Mundruczó - Hungary, Germany, Sweden
  • Xenia, by Panos H. Koutras - Greece, France, Belgium
YouTube playlist of the finalists