skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Sakharov Prize 2014: Meet the nominees


They have different backgrounds - rapper, gynaecologist, religious leader, journalist – but they all share a commitment to defending human rights. The nominations for the Parliament’s 2014 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought are:

  • Mr Mahmoud Al ‘Asali, a law professor from the University of Mosul who stood up for Christian rights and was killed last July, and Mr Louis Raphael Sako, the Iraqi-born patriarch of the Chaldean Catholic Church, were nominated for their defence of religious freedom in the country by the ECR group, Anna Záborská and 66 other MEPs.
  • The rappers Mr Mouad Belghouate (also known as El Haqed from Morocco) and Mr Ala Yaacoubi (also known as Weld El, from Tunisia) and the Egyptian blogger and political activist Mr Alaa Abdel Fattah were nominated by the GUE/NGL group.
  • CHREDO, Open Doors, Oeuvre d'Orient and Aid to the Church in Need, organisations for the protection of Christian minorities were nominated by Philippe Juvin and 60 other MEPs.
  • The pro-European Ukrainian movement EuroMaidan, represented by the journalist Mr Mustafa Nayem, the musician and Eurovision winner Ms Ruslana Lyzhychko, activist Ms Yelyzaveta Schepetylnykova and journalist Ms Tetiana Chornovol, was nominated by Jacek Saryusz-Wolski and 52 other MEPs.
  • The Somali-born American activist, Ms Ayaan Hirsi Ali, defender of women's rights in Islamic societies and known for her opposition to female genital mutilation, was nominated by the EFDD group.
  • Mr Denis Mukwege, a Congolese gynaecologist specialised in the treatment of rape victims and founder of the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu, in the Democratic Republic Congo, was nominated by the S&D and ALDE groups and Barbara Lochbihler.
  • Ms Leyla Yunus, imprisioned Azerbaijani human rights activist and director of the Institute of Peace and Democracy, was nominated by the Greens/EFA group and Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Marietje Schaake and Ramon Tremosa.

The winner will be announced in Ocotber.