skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


New European Commissioners announced


Today Jean-Claude Juncker, President elect of the European Commission, announced the names of the proposed Commissioners. There are 28 in total, one from each of the Member States, and each has their own portfolio. The British Commissioner is Lord Hill of Oareford who has the newly created Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union portfolio. The next steps are for the European Parliament to have hearings and then vote on the appointment of the proposed Commissioners.