skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Launch of the 2016 European Charlemagne Youth Prize


The competition for next year's European Charlemagne Youth Prize was launched on Thursday, 15 October. Now in its ninth year, the prize is awarded to young people who have developed projects to foster understanding between people from different European countries. The deadline for submissions is 25 January 2016.

The Charlemagne Youth Prize is organised jointly by the European Parliament and the International Charlemagne Prize Foundation in Aachen and awarded each year for projects run by people aged between 16 and 30. The winning projects should provide models for young people living in Europe and offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community. Past winners include youth exchange programmes and artistic and internet projects with a European dimension.

Prize money of €10,000

The three winning projects (chosen from the 28 projects nominated by national juries in the individual EU member states) will be awarded €5,000, €3,000, and €2,000 respectively. Their representatives will be invited to visit the European Parliament in Brussels or Strasbourg in the autumn.

Representatives of the 28 national winning projects will be invited to the Charlemagne Youth Prize award ceremony on 3. May 2016 and the International Charlemagne Prize of the City of Aachen award ceremony two days later during a four-day trip to Aachen in May 2016.

2015 winners

@RealTime WW1, a Twitter project from Luxembourg, was awarded first prize at the 2015 Charlemagne Youth Prize ceremony in Aachen University on 12 May 2015. The second prize went to the Fronterras-European (border) line project from France and the third price went jointly to Social Soccer Cup (Austria), Entrepreneurship, the Solution against Unemployment (Cyprus) and Infoactualidad (Spain).

Representatives of the three winning projects were invited to Brussels to meet Members of the European Parliament on 14 and 15 October 2015.


• Launch of the competition and online applications: 15 October 2015
• Deadline for applications: 25 January 2016
• Selection of the 28 projects by the national juries: 11 March 2016
• Selection of the three winning projects by the European jury: 7 April 2016
• Award ceremony in Aachen: 3 May 2016

Apply today!

Contact for press queries:
Constanze Beckerhoff
+32 22844302
+32 498983550

Contact for general queries: