skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Parliaments, law-making & scrutiny - London, 11th Sept. 2014

The political dynamics of parliaments in EU decision-making

We examine the role of national parliaments and the European Parliament in law-making and decision-making in the EU. We take a closer look at democratic scrutiny, subsidiarity and at recent proposals to enhance national parliamentary involvement in EU affairs.

A panel debate to discuss the changing role of parliaments (both national and European) in the EU decision-making process. To discuss recent proposals to enhance national parliamentary involvement in EU affairs, division of legislative powers between national and European level, differences in national parliamentary scrutiny systems.  



Lord Harrison, Chair of EU Sub Committee A - Economic and Financial Affairs, House of Lords

Sir William Cash MP Chair of European Scrutiny Committee, House of Commons

Eva Kjer Hansen, Parliament of Denmark, member of parliament (Folketinget) since 1990, former member of the cabinet

Richard Corbett MEP, Labour Member of the European Parliament for Yorkshire & Humber, former advisor to the first full-time and long-term President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy

Dr Sara Hagemann, Assistant Professor in EU Politics, Programme Director, Politics and Government of the European Union, LSE

BBC News journalist Martine Croxall chaired the debate.


Date Thursday 11th September at 18.00
Venue Europe House, 32 Smith Square, London SW1P 3EU