skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Previous Election Results

The European Parliament was directly elected for the first time in 1979.  The last election was on Thursday 4 June 2009. Here are detailed results of these elections.

In 2009 the UK voted in 72 MEPs from its 12 constituencies. The UK gained an additional seat in the West Midlands region on 1 December 2011 as a result of the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty. The UK therefore currently has 73 MEPs.  Find your MEP

Elections 2009
Elections 2004
Elections 1999
Elections 1994
Elections 1989
Elections 1984
Elections 1979