Euratom Treaty 

Paul-Henri Spaak and Jean-Charles Snov et d’Oppuers at the signature of the Treaty establishing European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) 25.03.1957 

Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community

Two treaties were signed on 25 March 1957 - the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or Euratom). Among the main aims of the Euratom Treaty are:

  • promoting research and disseminating technical information
  • setting uniform safety standards to protect the public and industry workers
  • to facilitate research
  • to ensure civil nuclear materials are not diverted to other uses, particularly military

The value of Euratom can be seen clearly in the context of enlargement. Nuclear power is an important energy source for many Eastern European countries, but safety standards in their nuclear power plants and the level of protection of the public and workers are not always sufficient. Euratom has provided the context for EU support.

  • Signed in: Rome (Italy) 25 March 1957
  • Entry into force: 1st January 1958