skip to content

Rules of the competition


Make sure you read the full version of the rules of the European Charlemagne Youth Prize. Projects that do not fulfill the criteria identified in the rules will not be taken into account for evaluation.

Projects must meet the following criteria in order to qualify:

  1. They must have displayed achievements in the following areas:
  • Promoting cooperation and understanding both across Europe and internationally, based on democratic values (such as, for example, respect for human dignity, freedom, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights)
  • Promoting a shared sense of European identity and European integration;
  • Encouraging other young people in Europe to get involved in our democracy;
  • Offering practical examples of Europeans living together as a community.
  1. They must be submitted by a young person residing in one of the 27 EU Member States and aged 16 to 30 on the date of the application.
Get some inspiration from the former prize winners and their projects.

Award criteria

Projects will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • How well the objectives of the prize have been achieved;
  • The creativity and originality of the project, including innovative initiatives;
  • Projects with transnational dimension (involving young people from more than one Member State) will be prioritised.

Selection procedure

The selection is made in two steps. First, the national jury in every Member State decides the best national project. After that, out of 27 national winning projects, the European jury decides the three winning European projects.

The national jury in every Member State consists of two Members of the European Parliament and a representative from the youth sector, and is selected annually. For more information on the national selection procedure in your Member State, please refer to the European Parliament Liaison Office in your country.

The European jury selecting the three European winners consists of:

  • The President of the European Parliament;
  • Two Members of the European Parliament;
  • Three representatives of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen;
  • Two representatives of the youth sector (including former prize winners).

The award

  1. The three winning European projects receive the following awards: first prize is €7,500, second prize €5,000, and the third prize €2,500.
  2. Representatives from each of the national winning projects are invited to the Charlemagne Youth Prize award ceremony in Aachen in May.
  3. As part of the prize, the European winners are invited to visit the European Parliament (in Brussels or Strasbourg).

Timetable for 2022

10 January 2022: launch of the competition

13 February 2022: deadline for submitting projects

March 2022: announcement of the national winners

May 2022: Award ceremony in Aachen

If you have any questions, contact us at