

COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS

DELEGATION TO THE EU-UKRAINE PARLIAMENTARY ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE

DELEGATION TO THE EURONEST PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

JOINT STATEMENT

by Mr David McALLISTER, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs,

by Mr Dariusz ROSATI, Chair of the Delegation to the EU-Ukraine PAC,

by Ms Rebecca HARMS, Chair of the Delegation to the Euronest PA,

by Mr Michael GAHLER, AFET standing rapporteur on Ukraine,

following the decision of the European Parliament to award this year's Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to Oleg Sentsov.

Brussels, 25 October 2018. We warmly welcome the decision of the European Parliament to award this year's Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to Oleg Sentsov.

Through his determination to remain a free man despite an unlawful process and inhumane conditions of imprisonment, Oleg Sentsov is an incarnation of freedom of thoughts and a symbol of the struggle against Russian oppression. With this choice, the European parliament also reiterates its strong call to the Russian Federation to release all illegally jailed Ukrainian citizens, and its condemnation of the illegal annexation of Crimea.

The Russian authorities should finally release Oleg Sentsov and we look forward to welcoming him in Strasbourg in December to receive his prize.

For further information:

Office of Mr McAlister: +32 2 28 77 130; david.mcallister-office@europarl.europa.eu

Office of Mr Rosati: +32 2 28 474 82; dariusz.rosati-office@europarl.europa.eu

Office of Ms Harms: +32 2 28 45695; rebecca.harms-office@europarl.europa.eu

Office of Mr Gahler: Tel.: +32 2 28 47 977; michael.gahler-office@europarl.europa.eu

Secretariat of the Delegation to the EU-Ukraine PAC: + 32 2 284 43 219, D-UA@europarl.europa.eu