

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF CYPRUS



http://www.europarl.europa.eu/relnatparl relnatparl@ep.europa.eu

Photo credits: Cyprus House of Representatives

1. AT A GLANCE

Cyprus has a presidential system of government where the President is elected directly by the citizens every five years. At the same time, the Cypriot Parliament - referred to as the House of Representatives - is elected in separate elections, also held every five years (but in different years).

The House of Representatives is composed of 56 Members coming from the Greek Cypriot community. Another 24 seats are reserved for Members coming from the Turkish Cypriot community but, due to the political situation on the island, are currently vacant. In addition, there are three observer members representing the Armenian, Latin and Maronite minorities. Voting for national parliamentary elections is compulsory.

The main functions of the Parliament are to vote on legislation (which can be introduced by Government ministers, individual Members or political groups in the Parliament) and on the budget, as well as to exercise control over the activities of the Government.

2. COMPOSITION

Results of the elections of 30 May 2021				
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
AHMOKPATIKOE EYNAFEPMOE	Dimokratikos Synagermos (DISY) Democratic Rally	ерр	27.77	17
	Anorthotiko Komma Ergazomenou Laou (AKEL) Progressive Party of Working People	THE IN THE LEFT EUROPEAN PARALIAMENT	22.34	15
AH/KO	Dimokratiko Komma (DIKO) Democratic Party	S&D	11.29	9
	Ethniko Laiko Metopo (ELAM) National Popular Front		6.78	4
FARE	EDEK - Kinima Sosialdimocraton EDEK - Social-democratic Movement	S&D	6.72	4
AMMORPATION DAPATALN THENRILLA SOMEOPOTORY	Dimokratiki Parataxi (DIPA) Democratic Front		6.10	4
OKONOT E	Kinima Oikologon - Synergasia Politon (KOSP) Movement of Ecologists - Citizens' Cooperation	**************************************	4.41	3
	Others		14.59	0
			100%	56
Turnout: 65.72%.				
The next elections will take place in May 2026.				



3. OFFICEHOLDERS

President of the House of Representatives



Ms Annita DEMETRIOU (Democratic Rally - DISY) since 10 June 2021

Chair of Standing Committee on Foreign and European Affairs



Mr Harris GEORGIADES (Democratic Rally - DISY) since June 2021

Secretary-General of the House of Representatives: Ms Tassoula IERONYMIDES

4. RELATIONS WITH MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Participation rights for Cypriot MEPs in plenary No sittings

Participation rights for Cypriot MEPs in committee No meetings

Availability of videoconferencing system in Cyprus Yes House of Representatives

5. INFORMATION LINKS

- Official website: http://www.parliament.cy/
- Rules of procedure (Greek only)
- List of committees
- <u>European Parliament Information Office in Nicosia</u>
- Search legislation (europa.eu)

6. CONTACTS

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:

Ms Vivi Chavaki Administrator for a parliamentary body Office MTY 08R001, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 (0)2 28 44960 paraskevi.chavaki@europarl.europa.eu Brussels-based contact of the Cyprus House of Representatives:

Ms Maria Sotiriou Georgiou Liaison Officer of the Cyprus House of Representatives Office MTY 03R018, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 41778 maria.sotiriou@natparl.ep.europa.eu