

EBPOΠΕЙСКИ ПАРЛАМЕНТ PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTET
EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROOPA PARLAMENT EYPΩΠΑΪΚΟ ΚΟΙΝΟΒΟΥΛΙΟ EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA hEORPA PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS

EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÓPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EWROPEW EUROPEES PARLEMENT

PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENTO EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN

EURÓPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROOPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPAPARLAMENTET

Directorate-General for Internal Policies - Directorate D - Budget Affairs

Committee on Budgetary Control

Brussels, 11 September 2012

Fact-finding delegation of the Budgetary Control Committee to Rotterdam and Antwerp, 19-20 September 2012

DRAFT PROGRAMME

Members of the delegation:

- 1. Iliana Ivanova EPP (Head of Delegation)
- 2. Ingeborg Grässle EPP
- 3. Georgios Stavrakakis S&D
- 4. Jens Geier S&D
- 5. Edit Herczog S&D
- 6. Søren Søndergaard GUE/NGL

Members accompanying the delegation (out of quota)

- 6. Michael Theurer ALDE, (CONT Chairman)
- 7. Bart Staes Verts/ALE
- 8. Jan Mulder ALDE
- 9. Lucas Hartong NI

Political group advisors

Balazs Szechy - EPP Maggie Coulthard - S&D Vaclav Mls - S&D Hendrik Prummel - Verts/ALE Dominykas Mordas - ALDE Andreas Wehr - GUE/NGL

CONT Secretariat

Mauro De Oliveira (AD) Sylvana Zammit (AST) (EP mobile as of 19 till 20 September: +32-475-754 668)

Interpreters

- J. Van Doorn (NL, Team leader)
- A. Kennedy (EN)
- E. Lagemann (NL)

T. SCREECH (REQ)

Technician

Peter BOGHE

Languages covered

EN, NL

In attendance

Cristina Fancello, assistant to Ingeborg Grässle Ioannis Latoudis, assistant to Georgios Stavrakakis Mihail Stefanov, assistant to Iliana Ivanova Emiel Van Dijk, assistant to Lucas Hartong

Commission

Katelijne Claes (DG TAXUD)

Members are informed that, according with article 6 of the Bureau decision on travel of the committee delegations, as amended on 13 March 2012, missions should take place during weeks set aside for external parliamentary activities and missions outside these weeks would only be provided with a limited language regime that may not exceed interpretation into one language. Therefore the only interpretation to be provided for this delegation is into English.

Coordination in Rotterdam

Mr. Leo van Veen Strategic Advisor International Affairs: +31 6 – 1860 5933 l.van.veen@belastingdienst.nl

Mr. Onno van Elswijk External Relations Officer: +31 6 – 1860 1086 oj.van.elswijk@belastingdienst.nl

Coordination in Antwerp

Robin Machiels +32 474 538 824 robin.machiels@minfin.fed.be

Christiane Verlent
Eaw. inspecteur - Inspecteur Principal - Senior Officer
tel: + 32 257 54 988
GSM/mobile: +32 470 754 988
christiane.verlent@minfin.fed.be

Accommodation

Hotel suggested in Rotterdam: *Inntel Rotterdam Centre*

Schiedamsedijk 140 3011 EA Rotterdam **T** +31 104 134 139 **F** +31 104 133 222

Transportation

The delegation will have an air-conditioned <u>bus</u> at its disposal from/to Brussels and during the entire duration of the delegation visit. Company: Bergkoning.

<u>Main objectives of the delegation</u>: The system of (traditional) own resources and the customs control systems, in particular - situation in the ports of Rotterdam and Antwerp and the respective Member States. Traditional own resources comprise customs duties, agricultural duties, and sugar and isoglucose levies and were introduced in 1970. They are levied on economic operators and collected by Member States on behalf of the EU.

- how and on the basis of what rules they are collected
- how the physical supervision and documentary/electronic controls are organized and implemented both by the Ports Authority and the Customs Administrations enforcing Union legislation and regulations.

I. Wednesday 19 September 2012 - Rotterdam

Departure from Brussels (09h00) to Rotterdam by bus.

- 11:00 Reception and welcome at the World Port Centre by:
 - Mr. René de Vries, the Harbourmaster of Port of Rotterdam
 - Mr. Willy Rovers, the General Director Customs Administration of the Netherlands
- 11:15 Presentations on:
 - Port of Rotterdam, Mr. Frans van Keulen
 - Inspection tasks (safety & security), Mr. René de Vries
- 12:00 Embarkation 'MS Nieuwe Maze' for a tour through the Port of Rotterdam to the Maasylakte
 - Presentation by Mr. Willy Rovers: the Customs Administration and the international supply chain
 - Lunch
- 14:00 Disembarkation (Fast Ferry Jetty, Yangtze Port, address Antarticaweg, Rotterdam Maasvlakte)

Transfer to the ECT Delta container terminal by delegation bus

14:15	Visit to the ECT Delta container terminal, Mr. Rob Bagchus Chief PA & PR Officer ECT, the Netherlands
14:45	Transfer to Customs office Maasvlakte by delegation bus
15:00	Presentation on customs supervision on in-and outbound traffic: management of the EU external border on commodities, Mr. Frank Heijmann, Head of Trade Relations of the Customs Administration
16:30	End of programme, transfer to the hotel by delegation bus from:
16:30	End of programme, transfer to the hotel by delegation bus from: Address: Bosporusstraat 5, Rotterdam Maasvlakte

Free dinner arrangements

II. Thursday 20 September 2012 - Antwerp

Departure from Rotterdam (8h30) to Antwerp by bus.

17.00	End of delegation visit and return to Brussels.
16.40	End of programme
15.10	Introduction and visit to the Border Inspection Post (it will be possible for the delegation to choose one or several containers to be scanned)
15.00	Transfer by bus to Border Inspection Area
14.20	Visit Antwerp Gateway terminal and explanation of working flow process by terminal operator
14.00	Arrival at Kay 602 and transfer by bus to Antwerp Gateway Terminal
12.30	Port tour and lunch
12.00	Transfer by bus to Kay 62 and boarding on Flandria 16
10.45	Exchange of views with Noël Colpin, Administrator-General of the Belgian Administration of Customs and Excise
10.15	Meeting with Cpt. Rik Verhaegen, Manager Vessel Traffic Management of th Antwerp Port Authorities
10.00	Welcome and short introduction by Mr Chris Hoornaert, Port Ambassador
10.00	Arrival at the Port House, Entrepotkaai 1, B-2000 Antwerpen