

2014 - 2019

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

2014/2090(DEC)

6.2.2015

OPINION

of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the budget of the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction for the financial year 2013 (2014/2090(DEC))

Rapporteur: Sylvie Guillaume

AD\1046346EN.doc PE541.385v01-00



SUGGESTIONS

The Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following suggestions into its motion for a resolution:

- Welcomes the conclusions of the Court of Auditors that the annual accounts of the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA) present fairly, in all material respects, its financial position as of 31 December 2013 and the results of its operations and its cash flows for the year then ended, and that the transactions underlying EMCDDA's annual accounts for the financial year 2013 are legal and regular in all material respects;
- 2. Takes note of the Court of Auditors' observations pointing to necessary improvements in connection with the legality and regularity of transactions;
- 3. Points out in this connection that public procurement procedures can be improved as regards, in particular, transparency and equality of treatment for tenderers;
- 4. Is concerned at the fact that there are unoccupied offices in its former headquarters, and at the related costs, and calls for top priority to be given to resolving the issue;
- 5. Considers, in general, that the EMCDDA should pay greater attention to the principle of sound financial management in respect of the budgetary principle of annuality, i.e. to using appropriations economically, efficiently and effectively in carrying out its remit.

RESULT OF FINAL VOTE IN COMMITTEE

Date adopted	5.2.2015
Result of final vote	+: 48 -: 6 0: 1
Members present for the final vote	Martina Anderson, Heinz K. Becker, Bodil Ceballos, Caterina Chinnici, Ignazio Corrao, Rachida Dati, Agustín Díaz de Mera García Consuegra, Frank Engel, Cornelia Ernst, Laura Ferrara, Monika Flašíková Be ová, Lorenzo Fontana, Mariya Gabriel, Nathalie Griesbeck, Sylvie Guillaume, Monika Hohlmeier, Brice Hortefeux, Filiz Hyusmenova, Sophia in 't Veld, Eva Joly, Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann, Timothy Kirkhope, Barbara Kudrycka, Kashetu Kyenge, Marju Lauristin, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Vicky Maeijer, Claude Moraes, József Nagy, Soraya Post, Judith Sargentini, Birgit Sippel, Csaba Sógor, Traian Ungureanu, Marie-Christine Vergiat, Harald Vilimsky, Cecilia Wikström, Kristina Winberg, Tomáš Zdechovský
Substitutes present for the final vote	Laura Agea, Hugues Bayet, Andrea Bocskor, Pál Csáky, Daniel Dalton, Dennis de Jong, Petra Kammerevert, Ska Keller, Andrejs Mamikins, Maite Pagazaurtundúa Ruiz, Christine Revault D'Allonnes Bonnefoy, Jaromír Št tina, Kazimierz Michał Ujazdowski, Axel Voss
Substitute(s) under Rule 200(2) present for the final vote	Eugen Freund, Elisabetta Gardini, Charles Tannock

