Future composition of the European Parliament

© European Union 2017 - EP

Determining the composition of Parliament is a very sensitive and challenging topic. AFCO has been examining different possibilities to establish a permanent system for the distribution of Parliament's seats. Here you will find links to different internal and external studies and events on this subject.


On 30 January 2017, Policy Department C organised a workshop for the Committee on Constitutional Affairs on the Composition of the European Parliament. Three invited experts, Prof. Friedrich Pukelsheim, Prof. Victoriano Ramírez, and Dr. Wojciech Słomczyński, presented their views. Please see link below.

On 23 January 2018 AFCO voted on a new distribution of Parliament's seats for the 2019 -2024 legislative term, which is fair, objective and meets all Treaty criteria. Please see link below.