Please fill this field

Ekonomikos valdymas

The Euro Accession Countries Working Group

The WG was established by decision of ECON coordinators on 18 November 2019 in order to give Members the opportunity to have exchanges with the European Commission, the respective representatives of the Member States, academics and other experts to study the different policy measures adopted by the Member States for the fulfilment of the nominal and real convergence criteria. These criteria refer to the conditions required to ensure that a Member State's economy is prepared enough for the adoption of the euro. All EU countries (except Denmark under its "opt-out" clause) are committed, once fulfilled the criteria, to adopt the euro, which has been introduced in 19 Member States. In the context of the COVID-19 outbreak, the WG held two in-camera meetings: on 5 May 2020 with Croatian Finance Minister Marić on current plans concerning ERM II entry, and on 12 May 2020 with Bulgarian Finance Minister Goranov on current plans concerning ERM II.